Revere Ware Process Patent Double Circle Logo Cookware

Revere had been producing cookware for years, and came up with their method of producing a stainless/copper combination along with a plastic (bakelite) handle during these years, but applied for the patent for it and decided to use this logo.  It was stamped on the bottom of their cookware for almost 20 years.  In 1968, they changed their process to use a thinner stainless steel, and also a thinner electroplated copper bottom.  Copper prices, along with all metal prices were rising and it was a way to cut costs.  The reduction of both stainless steel and copper continued throughout the decades.  (More on that in future posts.)

Revere also changed their logo in 1968.  They simply removed the double circle, the “copper clad” writing inside the circle, and the patent information below the circle, leaving the 1801, the profile, an “Revere Ware”.  They continued with this logo with a few minor changes through the late 1990’s, when production within the USA shut down permanently.   You can still buy Revere Ware, which is now owned by Corning, (AKA World Kitchens), but it is stamped “China” or “Indonesia”, and one variation (Pro Line) was made in Thailand for a while.   The “good old pans” were and still are MUCH heavier and better than what you can buy today at Wal-Mart.

7 thoughts on “Revere Ware Process Patent Double Circle Logo Cookware

  1. Yvonne Dobson

    Sad to say – I have burned the inside bottoms of some of my small pans. Can this be repaired or polished out at the factory. As you point out, the original Paul Revere pots are so much heavier than the new things that are available now that I want to refurbish mine if at all possible. Just to show how much I love my pots – I have given sets of many pieces as wedding gifts. Given all four of my children sets. I bought my first “set” at a house party in 1951.
    Very Sincerely yours,
    Yvonne Dobson
    Please reply. my e-mail is below.

    Reply
    1. paulrevereware Post author

      Depending on what remains inside your pans, it is possible that they can be restored, but I doubt that the factory will do anything. They don’t do repairs. Actually nowadays Revere Ware is owned by World Kitchen, LLC in Rosemont, Illinois, but the factory is actually overseas, so the shipping would likely be terrible, even if they agreed. World Kitchens also owns Pyrex, Corningware, Corelle, Chicago Cutlery, and quite a few other known brands.
      Sometimes I can remove blackened discoloration from inside a pan, but I do not know any magic tricks. It is never easy. I am seriously thinking about opening an online store to begin buying and selling replacement (older) Revere Ware. A lot of it I already own, and sometimes people contact me wanting to sell me some. What do you think about something like that? A lot of people seem to really like the older stuff, and even the newer stuff as long as it was made in the USA.

      Reply
  2. http://www.topkek.net/category/bilgisayar

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much approximately this, like you wrote the e-book in it or something.
    I think that you just can do with some p.c. to force the message house a bit, however other than that, this is great blog.
    A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

    Reply
  3. More Info

    It’s actually a great and helpful piece of information. I am satisfied that you shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  4. Diane Jones

    I have a set of the Revereware with the 1776-1976 stamp on it. Do you think I should polish it or leave the natural patina on it. I am planning to sell this set.

    Reply
  5. Michelle

    My mother bought me a complete set of Revereware for Christmas 1995. These were the last gift I ever received from my mom, she died 4 months later. I have used my almost 20 year old set of Revereware pots and pans everyday since receiving them, and they still look almost new after all these years.

    Question: I have an 8 quart that is missing it’s lid, do you have one for sale? If not I would love to buy the largest quart size available. I have no intention of retiring my Reverware.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

